Faculty and Staff Members

 
Faculty
 
 
Thomas Adams

Thomas Adams 
Affiliated Associate Professor
Department of Integrative Studies, College of Education and Professional Studies

US History, Social Studies  

College of Education and Professional Studies
(251) 460-6672

 

 

Claire Cage

Claire Cage
Professor
Director, Gender Studies Minor Program
France, Gender

ccage@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7373
Humanities 376

 

 

 

Bob Faust
Robert Faust
Senior Instructor 
U.S. History, Western Civilization, Environmental History
rfaust@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7602
Humanities 381


 

kozelsky

Mara Kozelsky
Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
Director, Digital History Lab 
Eastern Europe and Russia
Military History/War and Society
Digital History

mkozelsky@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7377
Humanities 375

 

Timothy J. Lombardo
Timothy J. Lombardo
Associate Professor
Modern U.S., American Urban History, Race and American Political Development, Labor/Working Class History

tlombardo@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6868
Humanities 378

On Leave Fall 2022

 

Henry McKiven
Henry McKiven
Associate Professor
U.S. South, Civil War and Reconstruction, Labor
hmckiven@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7610
Humanities 351

 

David Meola

David Meola
Fanny and Bert Meisler Associate Professor of History and Jewish Studies
Director of Jewish and Holocaust Studies Minor Program 
Enlightenment and Modern Germany, Modern Jewish History,  Jewish Studies

dameola@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6867
Humanities 352

 

David Messenger

David A. Messenger
Professor
Chair of the Department 
Modern Europe, Spain, Human Rights, War and Memory

davidamessenger@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Humanities 344

 

Harry Miller
Harry Miller
Professor
China, Japan
hsmiller@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7547
Humanities 377

 

Michele Strong
Michele Strong
Associate Professor 
Modern British Social and Cultural History, British Empire, Travel and Tourism
mstrong@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-7531
Humanities 374

 

kelly urban
Kelly Urban
Assistant Professor 
Latin America, Cuba, Medicine, Race
kurban@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6972
Humanities 372
 
vaughn-roberson

Clayton Vaughn-Roberson
Assistant Professor 
U.S. History, African-American, International- US and the World 

croberson@southalabama.edu

(251) 460-7540

Humanities 371

 

Rebecca Williams
Rebecca Williams
Associate Professor 
Islamic Civilization
rwilliams@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6158
Humanities 379

 

 
Part-Time Faculty
 
 
Mickell Carter
Mickell Carter
Instructor
U.S. History

 

William Donald
William Donald
Instructor
Western Civilization, U.S. History
wdonald@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Humanities 386

 

Audra Edwards
Audra Edwards
Instructor
Western Civilization, U.S. History

 

Elizabeth Green
Elizabeth Green
Instructor
U.S. History
elizabethgreen@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Humanities 386

 

 
Joseph Manzione
Instructor
U.S. History

manzione@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Humanities 386

 

Tennant McWilliams
Tennant McWilliams
Instructor
U.S. History

 

 
Wade Long 
Instructor
U.S. History 

jlong@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210 Column


Anne Perez

Anne Perez

Instructor

Western Civilization 

anneperez@southalabama.edu

(251) 460-6210

Humanities 386 

 

Philip Theodore
Philip Theodore
Instructor
Western Civilization, U.S. History 
ptheodore@southalabama.edu
(251) 460-6210
Humanities 386


 

Delene Case White
Delene Case White
Instructor
U.S. History 

 

Staff
 
 
Michelle Cagle
Michelle Cagle 
Department Secretary

 

 
Professors Emeriti & Retired Professors
 
 
Betty Brandon
Betty J. Brandon
Professor Emeritus 
 

 

 Martha Jane Brazy
Martha Jane Brazy
Associate Professor

 

Don DeVore
Donald E. DeVore
Professor Emeritus 
 

 

 

Woody Hannum
Woody Hannum 
Professor Emeritus 

 

 
W. Robert Houston 
Professor Emeritus 

 

Michael L. Monheit
Michael L. Monheit
Associate Professor Emeritus 

 

Dan Rogers
Daniel Rogers
Professor Emeritus 
 

 

Michael Thomason
Michael V.R. Thomason
Professor Emeritus 
 

 

 
 
Former Professors, Associate Professors, Assistant Professors, Permanent Lecturers 
 
 
William D. Barnard Aaron S. Fogleman Clarence Mohr *
Richmond F. Brown * Leanne Good Joseph A. Nigota *
Robert Brunhouse * A. Taber Green * Mollie Lewis Nouwen 
 Kathy Cooke Larry Holmes *  
Amy Turner Bushnell Williams C. Holmes Maureen Ogle 
Chen-Kuan Chuang * Leonard A. Macaluso * Bill Pencak
Charles W. Connell Howard F. Mahan * William Speck 
E. Lewis B. Curtis * R.  Michael Malek * John G. Turner 
George H. Daniels * J. Peyton McCrary Chitralekha Zutshi 
  Melton McLaurin   
(* = deceased)