Faculty and Staff Directory


Staff


Graves Headshot

Kim Graves | Secretary

HUMB 240
(251) 460-6146

kagraves@southalabama.edu


Outlaw Headshot

Debbie Outlaw | Accounting Clerk

HUMB 240
(251) 460-6146

dhoutlaw@southalabama.edu


Faculty


Amare Headshot

Nicole Amare | Professor  PUBLICATIONS

Specializes in professional communication and rhetoric and composition, with interests in gender studies and late American literature.

HUMB 252  |  460-7157  |  namare@southalabama.edu


Arras Headshot

Jenny Arras | Instructor and CompPAL Coordinator

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 255  |  460-6936  |  jarras@southalabama.edu


Beason Headshot

Larry Beason | Professor  PUBLICATIONS

Specializes in rhetorical analysis, composition pedagogy, grammar, and science fiction.

HUMB 274  |  460-7861  |  lbeason@southalabama.edu

Cesarini Headshot

Pat Cesarini | Associate Professor  PUBLICATIONS

Assistant to the Chair. Specializes in American literature from the colonial period to 1900.

HUMB 250  |  460-7835  |  pcesarini@southalabama.edu


Coleman Headshot

Robert Coleman | Associate Professor  PUBLICATIONS

Assistant Dean of Arts & Sciences. Specializes in digital humanities, U. S. literatures, literary aesthetics, and rhetorics. Editor of Studies in American Culture.

HUMB 118  |  460-6280  |  rcoleman@southalabama.edu


Cowley Headshot

Chris Cowley | Senior Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 248  |  460-7057  |  cmcowley@southalabama.edu


Dail Headshot

Heather Dail | Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 258  |  460-6743  |  hdail@southalabama.edu


Davis Headshot

Zachary Davis | Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 268  |  460-6744  |  zdavis@southalabama.edu


Frye Headshot

Doris Frye | Senior Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 260  |  460-7329  dfrye@southalabama.edu


Gaillard Headshot

Frye Gaillard | USA Writer in Residence  PUBLICATIONS

Specializes in Southern culture and history.

HUMB 272  |  460-7952  fgaillard@southalabama.edu


Guzy Headshot

Annmarie Guzy | Associate Professor  PUBLICATIONS

Specializes in composition pedagogy, professional communication, and honors education, with interests in genre literature and film.

HUMB 271  |  460-6745  |  aguzy@southalabama.edu


Halbrooks Headshot

John Halbrooks | Associate Professor  PUBLICATIONS

Graduate Coordinator. Specializes in medieval and Renaissance literature.

HUMB 269  |  460-7685  |  jvhalbrooks@southalabama.edu


Harrington Headshot

Ellen Burton Harrington | Professor and Chair  PUBLICATIONS

Specializes in British Victorian literature, detective and sensation fiction, and 19th century gender and colonial contexts.

HUMB 243  |  460-6146  |  eharrington@southalabama.edu


Hillyer Headshot

Richard Hillyer | Professor  PUBLICATIONS

Specializes in Renaissance literature and poetry.

HUMB 278  |  460-6539  |  rhillyer@southalabama.edu


Humphreys Headshot

Caleb Humphreys  | Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 275  |  460-7968  |  chumphreys@southalabama.edu


Jackson Headshot

Kern Jackson | Assistant Professor  PUBLICATIONS

Director of the African American Studies Program. Specializes in African American and Southeastern United States folklore and oral narrative.

HUMB 276  |  460-6363  KEMjacks@southalabama.edu


Johnson Headshot

Caleb Johnson | Assistant Professor  PUBLICATIONS

Specializes in fiction.

HUMB 256  |  460-7417  calebjohnson@southalabama.edu


Lang Headshot

Maura Lang | Senior Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 281  |  460-8198  |  mlang@southalabama.edu


McLaughlin Headshot

Becky McLaughlin | Professor  PUBLICATIONS

Generalist with particular interests in psychoanalysis and sexuality.

HUMB 279  |  460-7991  |  bmclaugh@southalabama.edu


O'Berry Headshot

Robert O'Berry | Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

AHS 340  |  461-1936  |  oberry@southalabama.edu


Owsley Headshot

Jessica Owsley | Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 259  |  460-6146  jessicasims@southalabama.edu


Pence Headshot

Charlotte Pence | Associate Professor  PUBLICATIONS

Director of Creative Writing and Director of the Stokes Center for Creative Writing.  Specializes in poetry and creative nonfiction.

HUMB 277  |  460-6149  |  cpence@southalabama.edu


Peterson Headshot

Karen Peterson | Senior Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 263  |  460-6148 kpeterson@southalabama.edu


Prince Headshot

Adam Prince | Stokes Visiting Writer

Specializes in fiction and screenwriting.

HUMB 351  |  460-7610  |  aprince@southalabama.edu


Raczkowski Headshot

Christopher Raczkowski | Associate Professor  PUBLICATIONS

Specializes in post-Civil War American literature with an emphasis on modernism and crime.

HUMB 270  |  460-7550  |  raczkowski@southalabama.edu


Roddy Headshot

Lisa Roddy | Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 261  |  460-7940  lroddy@southalabama.edu


Shaw Headshot

Patrick Shaw | Associate Professor  PUBLICATIONS

Director of Freshman Composition. Specializes in writing program administration, modern rhetorical theory, and the history of rhetoric.

HUMB 280  |  460-7972  pjshaw@southalabama.edu


St. Clair Headshot

Justin St. Clair | Associate Professor  PUBLICATIONS

Specializes in sound studies and contemporary fiction.

HUMB 262  |  460-7973  |  jmstclair@southalabama.edu  |  soundculturestudies.net


Tallent Headshot

Hunter Tallent | Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

AHS 344  |  414-8008  |  htallent@southalabama.edu


Tucker Headshot

Cynthia Tucker | USA Journalist in Residence  PUBLICATIONS

Journalist and Pulitzer-Prize-winning commentator.

HUMB 380 |  460-7666  |  catucker@southalabama.edu


Volf Headshot

Stephanie Volf | Instructor

Teaches composition and literature surveys.

HUMB 257  |  460-7956  |  stephanievolf@southalabama.edu


Vrana Headshot

Laura Vrana | Assistant Professor  PUBLICATIONS

Specializes in African American literature and poetry.

HUMB 254  |  460-6502  |  vrana@southalabama.edu