Faculty and Staff 

Faculty photoPictured Above: Full-time faculty and staff

The Department of Communication holds high standards for our faculty and staff. Every faculty and staff member is dedicated to teaching and advising students to best suit their individual need.

For inquiries about open positions, please click here.

Full-time Faculty 
Dr. Delaware Arif*
Associate Professor / Graduate Coordinator
Dr. George Bovenizer*
Assistant Professor
Ms. Nadia Bush
Senior Instructor
Dr. Jung Hwa Choi*
Assistant Professor
Mrs. Katherine Koury 
Senior Instructor / Alumni Committee Chair
Dr. Patricia Mark*
Associate Professor
Dr. Steve Rockwell*
Associate Professor
Dr. Pavica Sheldon*
Professor / Department Chair
Mrs. Megan Sparks
Senior Instructor / Internship Coordinator
Dr. April DuPree Taylor*
Assistant Professor / Public Speaking Course Director
Ms. Melissa Walter 
Instructor
 
*Graduate Faculty
Part-time Faculty
Bailey, Muriel
mrbailey@southalabama.edu
Beauchamp, Kate
kbeauchamp@southalabama.edu
Bennett, MeLeah
meleahmiller@southalabama.edu
Brink, Sharla
sharlabrink@southalabama.edu
Chandler, Brittney
bchandler@southalabama.edu
Davis, Dr. Stephanie
stephaniedavis@southalabama.edu
Head, Mary
maryhead@southalabama.edu
Herndon, Mike
mherndon@southalabama.edu 
Lakemon, Thomas
tlakemon@southalabama.edu
McDaniel, Ashley
admcdaniel@southalabama.edu
Messick, Marti
mnormand@southalabama.edu 
Mistrot, Brooke
briddle@southalabama.edu
Pence, Michelle
pence@southalabama.edu
Robinson, Edward
elrobinson@southalabama.edu
Sheffield, Dr. Sarah
ssheffield@southalabama.edu
Stevens, Johnny
jlstevens@southalabama.edu
Ward, Dr. Richard
rward@southalabama.edu
Wesson, Judy
jwesson@southalabama.edu
Graduate Assistants
India Hall
Caleb Helms
Emily Keith
Deavionne Lee
MD Oliullah
Andrea Parker
Kate Wall
Angie Yerovi
Staff
Cheryl Kirkland
Secretary V