Faculty List

Dr. Mark Albins

Dr. Mark A. Albins

Research Assistant Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Ecology of marine fishes, experimental design, applied statistics

Phone: (251) 460-7136

Email: markalbins@southalabama.edu


Dr. Jahson Alemu I

Dr. Jahson Alemu I

Research Assistant Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Coastal Sustainability; Ecosystem Services; Social-Ecological Systems; Trade-off decisions; Spatial Ecology; Blue Carbon

Phone: (251) 460-7136

Email: jalemu@southalabama.edu


Dr. Ronald Baker

Dr. Ronald Baker

Assistant Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Ecology of Marine and Estuarine Fish

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Email: rbaker@disl.org


Dr.Carmichael

Dr. Ruth H. Carmichael

Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Marine Ecosystem Response

Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext. 7555

Email: rcarmichael@disl.org


Dr.Dorgan

Dr. Kelly Dorgan

Associate Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Benthic ecology; biomechanics of burrowing; biological-physical interactions; functional morphology and physiology of invertebrates.

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Emailkdorgan@disl.org


Dr.Dzwonkowski

Dr. Brian Dzwonkowski

Associate Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: coastal circulation and across-shelf exchange processes, estuarine circulation and exchange processes, physical-biological coupling in the marine environment, and ocean observing systems. 

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Emailbdzwonkowski@disl.org


Dr. Kenneth L. Heck Jr.

Dr. Kenneth L. Heck Jr.

Emeritus Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Ecology of plant-animal interactions in seagrass meadows, and restoration of submerged aquatic vegetation, oyster reefs and wetlands

Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext. 2284

Email: kheck@disl.org 


Dr. Jeffrey W. Krause

Dr. Jeffrey W. Krause

Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Phytoplankton ecology, physiology and marine biogeochemistry

Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext. 7577

Email: jkrause@disl.org


Dr. John Lehrter

Dr. John Lehrter

Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Nutrient biogeochemistry and eutrophication impacts in coastal ecosystems.

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Email: jlehrter@disl.org


Dr. Zhilong Liu

Dr. Zhilong Liu

Research Assistant Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis:  Coastal Physics and Biogeochemistry, Coastal and Ocean Engineering,
Aquaculture, Regional scale modeling, CFD and large eddy simulation

Phone: (251) 460-7136

Email: zliu@disl.org


Dr. Heidi Lyn

Dr. Heidi Lyn

Associate Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Animal Behavior and Communication

Phone: (251) 460-6372

Email:hlyn@southalabama.edu


Dr. Charlie Martin

Dr. Charlie Martin

Assistant professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Introduced Species, Salinity Alteration in Estuaries, Plant-Animal and Food Web Interactions, Restoration, Climate Change and Other Disturbances.

Email: cmartin@disl.org 


Dr. Molly Miller

Dr. Molly Miller

Assistant professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: teaching undergraduate marine and environmental science courses; ecophysiology of aquatic plants and harmful algae; toxin production in HAB species; community outreach and education.

Email: mollymiller@southalabama.edu 


Dr.Powers

Dr. Sean Powers

Professor and Director of the Stokes School of Marine and Environmental Sciences, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Fisheries ecology; conservation and restoration of coastal shellfish and finfish 

Phone: (251) 460-7136

Email: spowers@disl.org  


Dr.BrandiKielRessse

Dr. Brandi Kiel Reese

Associate Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Microbial ecology; Geomicrobiology; Astrobiology; Understanding microbial communities through systems biology

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Emailbkielreese@disl.org


Dr.Robertson

Dr. Alison Robertson

Associate Professor, University of South Alabama

Graduate Coordinator, Environmental Toxicology M.S. Program

Emphasis: The role, fate, and biological effects of natural toxins and venoms, and other anthropogenic toxicants on organism, population, and ecosystem health in tropical and sub-tropical regions.

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Emailarobertson@disl.org


Dr. Steven Scyphers

Dr. Steven Scyphers

Associate Professor, University of South Alabama

Director, Center for Socio-Environmental Resiliency

Phone: (251) 460-7136

Email: sscyphers@southalabama.edu


Dr. Delbert “Lee” Smee

Dr. Delbert “Lee” Smee

Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Empirically Testing Ecology Theory

Phone: (251) 861-2141

Email: lsmee@disl.org


Dr.Shipp

Dr. Robert Shipp

Professor Emeritus, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Phylogeny of fishes; impact of artificial structures on fish population dynamics

Phone: (251) 460-7136

Email: rshipp@southalabama.edu


Dr. Amy Sprinkle

Dr. Amy Sprinkle

Assistant Professor, University of South Alabama
SSoMES Undergraduate Program Coordinator

Emphasis: Teaching undergraduate marine and environmental science courses; nutrient management and water quality; terrestrial and marine ecology; connecting students to the coastal community via service learning; and field experiences; outreach, and education. DISL Spring Semester by the Sea and DISL Summer Program Liaison.

Phone: (251) 460-7136

Email: sprinkle@southalabama.edu


Dr. Havalend E. Steinmuller

Dr. Havalend E. Steinmuller

Assistant Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Wetlands Ecology; Biogeochemistry

Email:hsteinmuller@disl.org


Dr.Valentine

Dr. John Valentine

Professor, University of South Alabama

Emphasis: Experimental Marine Ecology, Plant-animal interactions, Habitat Linkages, Human-Dominated Ecosystems.

Phone: (251) 861-2141 ext. 2261

Email: jvalentine@disl.org