About the Office of Community Engagement

Community engagement refers to the concept of intentionally pursuing partnerships aimed at producing mutually beneficial outcomes. Ultimately, this work is intended to be responsive to the needs of the community and result in civic-minded approaches.

As a campus, we want to continue enriching our curriculum, research, service-learning, and internship experiences in ways that bring the students, faculty and staff together with the community to apply scholarly and service efforts to address real problems and explore the enormous opportunities in our region. The Office of Community Engagement promotes community engaged teaching, learning, research and service. It is our goal to be a one-stop shop for students, faculty, staff, alumni and the community to connect, collaborate and partner.

The Staff of the Office of Community Engagement provides support to students, faculty, staff, alumni, and community members who seek to participate in a wide variety of community engagement activities including service learning, volunteerism, community engaged research, community engaged internships, and professional development.

Office Locations

Student Center, Suite 240, 350 Student Center Circle

Please email us at communityengagement@southalabama.edu or call the main number at (251) 460-6116 to request an appointment. 


Laurie Childers

Laurie Childers, Community Engagement Volunteer Coordinator

Ms. Childers is excited to be part of the Community Engagement Team and to help facilitate the University of South Alabama's commitment to community service. Having worked in the nonprofit sector for more than 15 years, she brings a wealth of experience to this role, from developing community partnerships, managing programs and events, and engaging volunteers to coordinating communication and resource development efforts. Prior to coming to Mobile, AL, Ms. Childers had the opportunity to work in both the Los Angeles and Washington D.C. areas.

Advisory Committee

Name Title
Martha Arrieta Associate Professor - Center for Healthy Communities
Nicole Carr Associate VP, Student Academic Success
Lynne Chronister VP, Research & Economic Development
Clista Clanton Senior Librarian – Marx Library
Becky Clark Head Women's Softball Coach
Joshua Cogswell Associate VP, University Development
Kathy Cooke Dean, Honors College
Sharon Fruh Associate Dean, Nursing
William Gillis Chair, Management - Mitchell College of Business
Bevley W. Green Director, Career Services Center
Warren Greene Assistant Admin, USA Health System
Roma Hanks Chair, Sociology/Anthropology/SW - Arts and Sciences
Kern Jackson Assistant Professor - English - Arts and Science
Sylvia Koestner Instructor - English as a Second Language
Sarah Koon-Magnin Associate Professor- Political Sci/Criminal Justice Department
Reed Miller Student Government Association
Ishara Ramkissoon Associate Professor - Speech Pathology and Audiology
Brigette Soderlind Associate Director, Student Organizations & Leadership
Tres Stefurak Chair, Professional Studies
Chandra Brown-Stewart Lifelines Counseling Services of Mobile
Kevin White Chair, Civil Engineering
Tim Wills CEO, Boys and Girls Club of Mobile
Jennifer Yates Assistant Director, Faculty Development