UNIVERSITY OF SOUTH ALABAMA BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Special Meeting

October 14, 2021 2:00 p.m.

A special meeting of the University of South Alabama Board of Trustees was duly convened by Mr. Jimmy Shumock, Chair pro tempore, on Thursday, October 14, 2021, at 2:00 p.m. in the Board Room of the Frederick P. Whiddon Administration Building. Public access was provided via YouTube livestream.

Members: Alexis Atkins, Chandra Brown Stewart, Arlene Mitchell,

Jimmy Shumock and Jim Yance were present, and Scott Charlton,

Steve Furr, Ron Jenkins, Lenus Perkins and Margie Tuckson

participated remotely.

Members Absent: Tom Corcoran, Ron Graham, Kay Ivey, Steve Stokes and

Mike Windom.

Administration & Guests: Damon Andrew, Kristin Dukes and Monica Ezell.

The meeting came to order and the attendance roll was called, **Item 1**. In his opening remarks, **Item 2**, Chairman Shumock advised of revisions to the meeting agenda and shared how the meeting would proceed. He called for adoption of the revised agenda, **Item 1.A**. On motion by Ms. Atkins, seconded by Mr. Yance, the Board voted unanimously to adopt the revised agenda.

Chairman Shumock noted that the purpose of the meeting was to interview a candidate for the president's position. In accordance with the provisions of the Alabama Open Meetings Act, he made a motion to convene an executive session for approximately one hour for the purpose of discussing good name and character **Item 3**. He added that Ms. Dukes had submitted the required written attorney's declaration for the minutes and said the meeting would be effectively adjourned at the conclusion of the executive session. Ms. Mitchell seconded and, at 2:02 p.m., the Board voted unanimously to convene an executive session, as recorded below:

AYES:

- · Ms. Atkins
- · Ms. Brown Stewart
- · Dr. Charlton
- · Dr. Furr
- · Capt. Jenkins
- · Ms. Mitchell
- · Mr. Perkins
- · Mr. Shumock
- · Ms. Tuckson
- · Mr. Yance

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 3:02 p.m.

Attest to: Respectfully submitted:

Katherine Alexis Atkins, Secretary James H. Shumock, Chair pro tempore