# Faculty Senate Plenary Meeting April 17, 2024- MCOB- 3:00-5:00 p.m. MCOB 265 MINUTES

Present: Abeynanda, Adams, Bates, Baughn, Black, Borchert, Brock, Brower, Bunch, Coronado, Cutchen, Davidson, S. Davis, T. Davis, Donaldson, Dzwonkowski, Ellzie, Ferguson, Fleck, Gavrilita, Getch, Godang, Hauff, Henning, J. Huang, Y. Huang, Hudson, Kersey, Khan, Kilgo, Lin, McDonald, McMullan, Meola, Merritt, Migaud, Miller, Min, Ní Chadhain, Pavelescu, Pfleeger, Rabideau, Richardson, Robertson, Sehgal, Shaw, Shea, Singh, Stenson, Streeter, Swofford, Tate, Ter Horst, Thomas, Thompson, Turnipseed, VandeWaa, Vrana, Walker, Wassenaar, Webb, Williams.

Excused: None.

Unexcused: Bessette, C. Holliday, N. Holliday, Marass, Raczkowski

Guests: Tracy Cole, Missy Curtis, Preethi Marri, Thomas Shaw, Beth Shepard, Tara Thompson, Ashleigh Bowman (Parliamentarian)

## I. Preliminary Business

The meeting was called to order at 3:00 pm with President Donna Streeter presiding. Quorum was met.

Approval of Minutes: The minutes for the Feb. 21<sup>st</sup> and March 20<sup>th</sup> were approved by 61 votes.

Approval of Agenda: The agenda for the April 17<sup>th</sup> meeting was approved by 61 votes.

President's Report: Donna Streeter submitted the "Faculty Senate End-of-Year Report"

#### II. Old Business

 Consideration of the adoption of the "Chicago Principles for Academic Freedom" was tabled until the May/August meeting.

- The proposal for non-tenure track (NTT) changes for the USA Faculty Handbook, regarding appointment and promotion, was discussed and voted on at the meeting. It defines three separate categories for non-tenure track faculty positions: Professorial (i.e., Instruction), Research, and Clinical. The proposal was adopted by a vote of 61 to 0. It will now go to the Council of Academic Deans (CAD) for their consideration.
- The proposed procedures for adding a second ombudsman were tabled to the May meeting.
- Consideration of the revised FS Committee Charges was tabled until August meeting to allow the new chairs of the standing committees to review the proposed changes.

#### III. Committee Reports

- Academic Development & Mentoring Committee: No report.
- Evaluation Committee: Looking at doing a shorter, less time-consuming survey with hopes of capturing more data from faculty
- Environmental Quality & Sustainability Committee: There is a proposal to change the name of the committee Sustainability Committee
- Faculty Salary & Benefits Committee: No report.
- Research & Creative Activities Committee: Mixer at Strada was well attended proposal to have once fall and once spring semester with a meeting on main campus and a meeting close to the medical side of campus
- Teaching, Learning, & Technology Committee: Discussions over SB 129; Billingsley working with ILC to have workshops to support faculty around what they teach. Upper admin is also working on a statement. There is an ongoing discussion about whether to use something besides student evaluations to evaluate faculty, so the committee put together a document to send out to CAD and FS. Some points that still need to be considered: evaluations during teaching issues; will there be a narrative portfolio (such as watermark) and if so how will that be uniform, and how will narratives be evaluated (who does it...)?
- University Planning Committee: will send out ballot for faculty awards
- University Policies & Handbook Committee: No report.
- Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee: Will meet next week re: how the Senate Bill–SB 129 will impact things such as the committee and name changes; HB 425 will impact libraries (censorship bill)

### IV. Caucus Leaders Reports:

#### V. University Committees Reports:

 The latest statistics available from AAUP data regarding faculty salaries were distributed.

#### VI. New Business

- Voting for the Faculty Senate Awards for Community Partnership, 2023-2024, is currently underway. The awards include:
  - ✓ Semoon and Younshin Chang Endowed Award for Humanitarian Service
  - ✓ Outstanding Research Partner Award
  - ✓ Outstanding Community Partner Award
  - ✓ Outstanding Teaching Partner Award

Voting will continue until the end of April.

Faculty Senate Election Results

<u>President</u>: Christina Wassenaar (MCOB)

<u>Vice-President</u>: Bret Webb (Engineering)

Secretary: Vicki Tate (Library)

<u>Academic Development & Mentoring Committee</u>: Seema Singh (Med)

Evaluation Committee: Clay Davidson (Computing)

<u>Environmental Quality & Sustainability Committee</u>: David Turnipseed (MCOB)

Faculty Salary & Benefits Committee: Andrei Pavelescu (A&S)

Research & Creative Activities Committee: Marie Migaud (Med)

<u>Teaching, Learning, & Technology Committee</u>: Laura Vrana (A&S)

<u>University Planning Committee</u>: Sean Walker (Engineering)

Policies & Handbook Committee: Sinéad Ní Chadhain (A&S)

<u>Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee</u>: Yvette Getch (Educ)

Meeting was adjourned at 5:00 pm

Submitted by S. Ferguson, edited by V. Tate